yaninasmarathon

See it, aim for it and do it. Stretch yourself and grow!

Day Two…..Which Was Yesterday!

My apologies for not updating my blog yesterday. It was a very long day. I was up at 4.30am to get to the gym for a 5.30am PT client, and was there all day until 5.30pm! When I got home it was dinner time and then one last PT session until 8.30pm, at which point I was brain dead! At least I got my run in ๐Ÿ™‚

Yesterday’s run was a tempo run. 8km with 5km at tempo of 5:40 pace. I ended up doing a 5:28 pace, too fast but what the heck. My goal is to come in under the 2hr mark for the Auckland Half marathon so I need to push myself a little. I do have a little SI niggle which I am monitoring. It’s not bad, just feel it in my butt when I am running and I am seeing the physio for it. I have had numerous niggles over the last year, I think it is a result of all the training. It has made me rethink my constant racing schedule, and I am aware now that as I get older I need to train smarter, which means more stretching and rolling and perhaps not so much of the racing! But I am committed to this race as of course I have my fundraising goal and now have had my first donation of which I am very proud

It is the first time I have raised anything for a cause, and I am sure there will be more donations to come. In case you are just joining me on this journey today, I am raising money for the Guide Dogs NZ. I decided that this time when I ran a race I would do it for a reason other than self fulfillment. You access my fundraising page here.

Today’s training is a strength session, and I am feeling less than enthusiastic. I started off with a scratchy throat last night and headache this morning. I am feeling a bit better now, so I will suck it up and do it soon. Then tomorrow I run again…..I never seem to mind that ๐Ÿ™‚ What is it about running? Why do we get so addicted?

smiley-running

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

