yaninasmarathon

See it, aim for it and do it. Stretch yourself and grow!

A Run In The Park

Today I headed off for a run in the park. Once again I was going to try and find the bridge that my husband fell off, so I ran up to Totara Park. That is one mean constant uphill from where we are staying…..

I actually had a pretty good run, except for one little part….

For those who don’t know, Totara Park is a working farm. It links up with the Auckland Botanical Gardens. It has a Bridle Path for walking, running and horse riding and it has mountain bike trails ranging in difficulty, which you can also run on as long as you give way to the mountain bikers. These mountain bike tracks run through the paddocks which house the cows. I am not sure if they’re cows or steers, but the other day when I tried to find the dangerous bridge, I saw one that looked quite bullish and that ended my search. I am a bit of a chicken.

So with trepidation today and also a lack of desire to run back up a steep hill, I set off on one of the mountain bike trails to get back to the start of the park. Paddock number one all good, some cows/steers, they were not bothered with my presence (I was barreling downhill at the time). Crossed over to paddock number two, no cattle in site, just a man walking his two dogs, must be all okay then, good mornings exchanged, round the corner and there they were. A small herd of bigger cattle, quite close to the path.

Keep going, my head said, stay calm it’s okay, it said. Until one of them saw me and started snorting and prancing and running with me, and then at me with snot flying out of it’s nostrils! Now I am sure it would have amounted to nothing and I am sure it wasn’t a bull, as this would have been very irresponsible of the farmer, but this is what I saw in my mind:

Image

So I just about pooped myself! And slowed to a brisk walk while talking to the cow/steer/whatever and telling it to stay like a dog. It did stop but continued to look at me with an evil eye, so I hurried (walking) through the rest of the paddock, assuring all the other cattle I was perfectly nice and so were they (as they had now all decided I was quite interesting really). Needless to say, I was quite relieved when I exited the bike trail and once again found myself on the Bridle Path and safety.

I still haven’t found that bridge, and now I am not sure if I want to try.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “A Run In The Park

  1. OH my gosh~ that’s crazy!! Once on a trail run (that runs near farms but not thru them) I saw a cow. Yep, A loose cow just grazing on the side of a trail ( I was in the woods at this point). Clearly she escaped. I thought about petting her cuz she was so pretty, but when she started to walk towards me I freaked out cuz she was so big! I took pics to prove it, but people still don’t believe I saw a cow in the woods that day! lol

Leave a Reply

