yaninasmarathon

See it, aim for it and do it. Stretch yourself and grow!

Temporary Home, Temporary Coffee Corner

We have moved to Auckland. Yesterday we drove up with our two suitcases, bags of food, one chilly bin and our coffee machine and grinder. These last two items were very important and could not be packed into the truck for storage with all our other stuff. I must confess to being a bit of a coffee snob, and can’t drink instant anymore. So of course, before every early morning run, there is the whole routine that must be carried out – grinding, tamping, expressing and of course enjoying!

This morning was no different except that the coffee machine and everything that goes with it, is balanced on a slightly rickety table and seems to make even more noise than usual.

coffeetime

That’s my hubby making his coffee šŸ™‚

Coffee and a slice of toast consumed I headed out for my run which was a slow one today…..all the way up a long hill, into Totara Park and up and down the bridal path. I had to walk some of the hills as they were just too steep for my legs today. I did try to find the bridge that my hubby fell off of on his mountain bike, but I piked out as I realised I would have to run up yet another hill. Perhaps in a few days time I may try again.

I did noticed that everyone exercising in the park was very friendly, something that didn’t happen as much in Tauranga. You would think that a smaller town would be more friendly and a city a bit more impersonal, but that wasn’t my experience today. It made me feel welcomed and right at home.

I am two weeks down on my weight loss program and all seems to be going well. I have stuck it out and I think the effort is starting to pay off. I have two weeks left on the program, each week gets a little more intense so I also need to remember to relax a little in between running a few different routes and finding a job. In two weeks we move into our new home. Then comes the unpacking…….and I am still looking at doing the Auckland Half Marathon.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Temporary Home, Temporary Coffee Corner

  1. Welcome to Auckland! I hope you manage to get a HM entry – it is sold out but you might still get (a more expensive) one through the Unitec Run/Walk lead up series if they are not sold out yet.

Leave a Reply

