yaninasmarathon

See it, aim for it and do it. Stretch yourself and grow!

Almost On The Move

Two more sleeps in our old house. Then we’re on the move. On Tuesday the movers come in to pack us up and then on Wednesday they uplift all our possessions for storage. Tomorrow the cats go into the cattery (I keep referring to it as jail, and my hubby says they’re going on holiday. I think it’s more like jail as they are not vaccinated so have to stay in an isolation room). Tuesday we move into a motel for three nights and then on Friday we leave for Auckland. The last week I have spent throwing out stuff, donating stuff, organising stuff, and still I have been getting my runs in. Thank goodness for some small sanity in all the madness.

Yesterday I went for my “long” run. It really wasn’t that long, only an hour. I am doing a trim down program and this last week took me back a notch with the distances, and put me on a time and RPE scale instead. I have tried this program before and then got sidetracked by something, and ended up only doing one week. This time I am determined to see the four weeks through and so have completed week one with a rest day and a sense of a job well done. I cheated a bit as I went for a walk with my daughter today and we walked rather quickly around the Mount Maunganui base track (her speed, not mine).

This week I have done hill repeats, a tempo run, a relaxed time trial, a moderate run, a long run and two resistance sessions with moderately heavy weights and I am feeling pretty good.

QQ Cartoon Olympio - Weightlifting

Next week I have more of the same, only more reps and longer times.

While I was running yesterday I realised that this was the last long run I would be doing here, that the next one I did and all the others after that will be in Auckland. It is quite exciting to have a new area to be running in, and it will be a challenge. I can only hope to get stronger as Auckland is not very flat, so you get to do a lot more hills as part of a normal daily run. The best part of being up there will be that there are a lot more events to enter, like the Colour Run which I plan to do, and…I am still on the lookout for an Auckland Half Marathon entry…..

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

