yaninasmarathon

See it, aim for it and do it. Stretch yourself and grow!

Nearly Race Day!

I have been quiet I know. The last time I sat down at my computer to write anything was almost 2 weeks ago! Various reasons….been feeling tired, and a bit meh…. This week we were away in Auckland and Colville. I have still been training, had a few hamstring niggles, went for 2 painful massages! It was almost as if I got the 35km run done and thought to myself “That’s it! Job done!” Not so….

I have a new toy, a Garmin Forerunner 410. I used it on Sunday for my final long run and again today. Why did I not buy this toy earlier? It is so simple to plan and do your runs, so easy to upload the info when you’re done. The only downside is the size of it. I have VERY small wrists, so have to use the smallest watch strap while the watch itself is HUGE, so no wearing of this one other than while running.

This week is final taper week. I am enjoying the severe shortage of runs. Today I went for a 6km trot, on Friday I will do 5km. Then Sunday is Race Day! I am going to wear my new toy as it tells me my pace, however I need to figure out how to drive it properly as I don’t want it beeping at me each km and reminding me that I still have screeds of kms left. I am hoping the weather will be good, and warmer than here. A few runs I have done lately, it has felt as if my face is going to fall off, it’s been that cold. On two mornings last week I was running along the boardwalk and it was covered in frost. I am hoping I can walk properly after the race, as when I did the Auckland Marathon, I had such sore feet I couldn’t walk properly for 2 days afterwards. I am dosing myself with Vit C so I don’t catch any bugs.

We leave for the Gold Coast on Friday morning, driving up to Auckland Airport for our flight. Perhaps I am starting to feel just a little bit excited…..

happy-face

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

