yaninasmarathon

See it, aim for it and do it. Stretch yourself and grow!

And So The Taper Begins

Sunday was the biggest long run in my training programme. 35km run mostly in the rain. The plus side was it wasn’t too cold, the minus side was it was windy! So in the end it felt a lot longer, and it showed in my time….3hrs 51mins.

run in rain

Afterwards I was soaked, but glad it was all over. I had done that illusive distance, I knew that the final hurdle had been leapt over and now there was just the slow winding down to Marathon Day! The rest of the training until then should be a doddle, right? Wrong! Monday I was tired – I did not want to do my strength workout, but I did it in the end. Yesterday I did an 8km recovery run – my legs felt like lead and I was feeling sluggish! Today I did a 14km run with km repeats – I couldn’t wait for it to finish! What am I going to feel like by week three of my taper?

I can only think that my body is tired, and possibly this taper is timed excellently as the gradual ease off of distance will give it the chance to recuperate and strengthen before race day on July 7. Hopefully I have not over-trained, hopefully I am not short on nutrition or dehydrated, I guess the next couple of weeks will tell. It’s now time to eat well, keep hydrated and if I need a few extra rest days…..I had better listen to my body and take them 🙂

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “And So The Taper Begins

  1. You’ll be great. Trust in yourself and the training that you’ve done. And, good luck!

Leave a Reply

