yaninasmarathon

See it, aim for it and do it. Stretch yourself and grow!

Head Games

Yesterday was the second planned 32km run in my training program in the lead up to the GC Marathon. After the previous week I was mildly dreading it (if you can mildly dread something).  I got out of bed to have my breakfast and was not in the mood at all to run. It is not something that happens to me often, so I am thinking I really do not enjoy the long training hours you have to put in to run a marathon. Needless to say, I am committed, so I will see this through.

The temperatures have dropped considerably, and they are not consistent. It is difficult to gauge whether  the sun will come out/stay out or if the wind will pick up. This makes it difficult to decide what running gear to wear. Yesterday looked as if it was going to be sunny, but the temperature reading for outside was only 7 deg C, so I put on a long sleeved running top. I am very glad I did that, for as the morning progressed, the sun disappeared and it got colder. At least it didn’t rain….

The first part of my run went really well. I was feeling fresh and strong and enjoying the view as I had taken a different route to avoid a race being held at my normal finishing spot. Unfortunately my foot started troubling me again, and I am now wondering if it is my shoes, as it only seems to happen in that one pair when I reach about 45mins into my run. It is something I will have to figure out this weekend when I use the other pair for my long run. Even though it was hurting I was still feeling upbeat until I reached that magic time mark (just past 2hrs 30min) where I started to get slower and slower and question my sanity. Whether it was a factor of my sore foot, or just that “I am over this” attitude, or a combination of the two, there it was, looming over me like a little black cloud as I ran down the road. And once again I had to talk to myself quite sternly to get myself going again.

As I neared the end of the run, it felt like I had not run the distance I needed (it turned out when checking MapMyRun I had messed up somehow and added about 1.5km in a backwards and forwards move on one street when I plotted my route the day before) but by then my shin had started to hurt quite a bit (no doubt as a result of my foot being sore) and I decided to call it quits and walk the rest of the way home. In the end I ran 30.5km and I am quite happy with that.

I still have one more very long run to do before I taper down to race weekend. I am going to have to employ all sorts of positive mind games on myself before I tackle it. The frame of mind I am in right now is not the best for self motivation. I keep telling myself this time, 5 weeks from now, I will be basking in the self-appointed glory of finishing my second (and last!) road marathon.

thumbsup

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

