yaninasmarathon

See it, aim for it and do it. Stretch yourself and grow!

Still Breathing

I think I am getting the hang of this new breathing technique, although I still find myself reverting back to my old way when I totally zone out. Today I tried using the count of 10 and that seemed to work better. In for 1-2-3, out 4-5, in 6-7-8 and out 9-10. I am also finding I have started to run a bit faster, well quite a lot faster, and I am wondering if this has to do with this new way of breathing. Supposedly, it is supposed to have an impact on your speed.

run

There is a little over 7 weeks to go until the GC Marathon now, and this coming Sunday I do the first of the 30km+ runs scheduled in my training programme. I am both excited and looking at it with some trepidation as this run will be done on my new shoes that have the 4mm heel-toe offset, a lot lower than what I ran my first marathon in. I am sure it will be okay, seeing as I have been slowly coming down from the traditional running shoe height. Next thing I need to do is buy a second pair as I am rotating with the old 8mm ones at present, not so good….

The other reason I am feeling a little trepidation for my long run on Sunday is that the weather forecast is for rain, and I am not such an “in the rain” runner. I like coolish, sunny weather for running, but then I guess that’s most of us runners!

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

