yaninasmarathon

See it, aim for it and do it. Stretch yourself and grow!

Listen to your Body

Sometimes your running is not about running at all, sometimes it is a reflection of what is going on in your life.

I have just had a chat with a friend who has helped me clear up something that has been weighing me down. You see, today while I went for my run I felt heavy. I felt like I plodded, lifting my legs was hard, I felt about 10 kilos heavier than normal. It was supposed to be a short 6km easy run and when I looked at my time I was not the slowest I have been, but it felt really slow. In a nutshell, it felt laborious.

In our discussion it became clear to me that I am far too rooted in my space to allow myself to move on, and this is what I need to be doing. The interesting thing is that this rootedness stems from feeling extremely unsettled having had no clear direction for a very long time. The reasons for this are not important, what is important is that sometimes a run can reflect what is going on for you at the time, and I have been feeling heavy for quite a while, I just haven’t been listening.

So the message here is listen to your body, it is far more intuitive than you may think, and often the things you are feeling are not physical, but mental and emotional.

images

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Listen to your Body

  1. Totally agree with you here – sometimes the things you’re feeling physically are from the mind. I’ve found if I’m having a really down day, my run feels so much harder. It does help me to clear my head and feel better though. But my best runs are ones where I’m in a great mood – my energy transfers!

Leave a Reply

