yaninasmarathon

See it, aim for it and do it. Stretch yourself and grow!

A Sad Day

My heart and thoughts go out to those affected by the bombings at the Boston Marathon. To those who lives were lost, to those who were injured and to their family and friends.

Today when I heard the news about the explosions going off at the Boston Marathon finish line, I felt like someone had punched me in the stomach. Even though this is not the first time a sporting event has been targeted, I think it hit me harder because I am also a runner. And even though I don’t know anyone personally who has been affected by this day, it feels as if I do, for we are all running family.

You see it when you are out on the road, random strangers waving hello, or grunting “Good Morning” in between puffing along. Sure, there are some who don’t acknowledge you directly, but I always think “there’s another runner” with some sense of satisfaction, and I like to think they are thinking the same thing. So when something happens to one of my “family” it hurts, and today I hurt.

It brings home the message that you need to enjoy your life, do what makes you happy, have fun, hug someone every day, be grateful for the things you have, smile at strangers, and above all don’t let other people rule your life, no matter who or what they are.

So to all the other runners out there…keep strong and keep running.

self-motivational-quotes-amazingmaterial

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “A Sad Day

  1. Colleen on said:

    Beautifully said! I was also shocked to wake up to this news this morning!

  2. Yes, I too often ‘grunt’ hello.
    🙂

    We runners are a community.

Leave a Reply

