yaninasmarathon

See it, aim for it and do it. Stretch yourself and grow!

Celebrate!

Today I did my longest run since the Colville Connection. I ran around the Mount base track and back to the start and as I set out I was feeling good. Halfway through the first lap I got quite tired and once again it was the hills that did it. I am really not very hill fit…..well I think that I’m not but maybe in comparison to other people I may be.

I was thinking about comparisons while I was running. Even though I felt tired, I reminded myself that 4 years ago I was overweight and unfit, and was not able to make one lap around the Mount without taking many walk breaks. It made me think that there is always improvement to be made, and also that to get fit and healthy is a journey, and you need to go back and revisit the past sometimes to see how far you have come, and the most important thing is that you need to celebrate that achievement.

My husband and I were having a discussion in the car on the way home from my run. It was on a totally unrelated topic, but it has meaning here. We were talking about how many young people these days either get killed or badly injured in car crashes, and what causes this. We were discussing the absence of calculated risk taking in today’s society, how children may not climb trees and jump off high things, how many children spend their days glued to the X-box in a world of unreality. We discussed how society has become too PC, and coupled with this is a “tall poppy” syndrome, where to celebrate any success is seen as something to be avoided, lest we offend someone who hasn’t done the same. Let’s all just participate.

But that is not what life is about, mere participation. Life is to be celebrated and achievements we make throughout that life, however small they may be, are worth celebrating. Don’t rely on other people to congratulate you, congratulate yourself, celebrate! So I congratulate myself for the achievement of becoming fitter over the last 4 years, and the fact that today felt a little hard….well really that is a fantastic thing!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

