yaninasmarathon

See it, aim for it and do it. Stretch yourself and grow!

Ready, Set….

I know my race is soon, or should I say my body knows it. Or perhaps my mind is the one with the knowledge and my body is displaying the classic “there is a race this weekend” symptoms. I am sure those of you who are runners out there may at one time or another experienced these symptoms….things start hurting for no reason.

You are happily in your taper week and up until this week, things have been pretty okay. No injuries, fitness levels are good, you’re feeling ready. And then suddenly race week comes around and little niggles appear. Today it was my left knee and right ankle, yesterday my right shin. Added to this I am having the usual “I am not ready, I haven’t trained enough!” running through my head. Absolute nonsense, as I am ready and definitely have trained enough, but there it is, running around, driving me silly.

This race will be what it is, somewhat different on a few counts. My hubby is coming along, crutches in hand, to cheer me on from the comfort of the deck at the family bach. I will wave to him twice, when we pass right at the beginning, and again at the end of the race. This is my first trail/off road race, half marathon distance and so I have no idea of expected finish times. I know it will take me longer than a road race, and that’s all I know. Guess I will find out on the day. Finally, it starts quite late…9.15am…which for a hot summer day is going to make for a hot run. I am used to running and racing earlier.

So there it is….race in 3 days time, and I am as ready as I am going to be for it.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

