yaninasmarathon

See it, aim for it and do it. Stretch yourself and grow!

Lead Legs

I seem to be suffering from lead leg syndrome. Well at least that’s what I call it. Every run I do these days feels like I am trying to drag myself around on legs that are heavy! Now I know I am not over training as I said in my last entry….I am running less, so I am perplexed as to what it might be caused by. Unless…..

Here’s my theory….

STRESS!

There is way too much going on emotionally with me at this time and it is haivng an effect on my running fitness. I am not a whole bubble at the moment. Just goes to show you that fitness is not purely defined in physical terms, there is much more at play. Stress causes your heart rate to increase so your body is already working harder even before you start running. Stress stops you sleeping well, so you are tired during the day and have less energy as a consequence. Not sleeping well makes you eat more carbs the next day (I crave sweet things) and you don’t get the correct nutrition to restore your body systems after your exercise which causes more STRESS!

Like a hamster on a wheel…..you get the picture.

So I need to de-STRESS…….Meditation comes to mind, walks on the beach, having a short nap in the afternoons. I am going to try these things and see what happens. Anything has to be better than lead legs!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

