yaninasmarathon

See it, aim for it and do it. Stretch yourself and grow!

Accolades For My New Trail Shoes

Mount Maunganui. Bay of Plenty, New Zealand.

Mount Maunganui. Bay of Plenty, New Zealand. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Today I did one of my off road runs that always leaves me somewhat breathless. It is on Mount Maunganui and is a steep climb followed by a sharp descent and then an undulating lap back to the stretching post! 60% of the trek up is stairs, and I have shorter legs so always watch my hubby start to disappear into the heights above while I puff along behind. It feels like a step class conducted at 500RPM! Anyway, today I made it up in 15:44, not too bad an effort.

I was wearing my new trail shoes, the Saucony Xodus GTX 3.0 and I came away extremely impressed with them. My previous trail shoes always left something to be desired. I used to have to watch the speed of my descent as they had the tendency to slip and I seemed to get sore knees from constantly braking on the way down. Well my new shoes performed like a dream! It is as if they have their own ABS brakes. I could run fast and they gripped the ground, I did not slip once. The best part was that I had absolutely no knee niggles during the run. I am stoked!

As an afterthought though, these are definitely trail shoes and are not comfortable on the road at all, too knobbly! Not that I have done any road running on them, just walking in them back to the car was enough to make me realise that if I were running on a course that had any tarred roads, it may be a little rough for a bit, and I certainly wouldn’t want to do it for long.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

