yaninasmarathon

See it, aim for it and do it. Stretch yourself and grow!

As The Weather Heats Up…..

I have to share my Face Book status with you. It is actually quite amusing when you step back from being the main person in this story. However I think many people can relate to this one:

“So I get into my car and because it’s a stinking hot day it is like a pizza oven in there. I drive a manual so I put the car into reverse and off I go…gotta get some air flow into my little car. As I put my foot on the clutch pedal again I realise my shoe is sticking to the pedal! Immediately I think “it has melted!” But NOOOO! I have stood in someones spat out chewing gum! WTF is wrong with people??????”

I am sharing this because luckily I have never had this happen while I am running, but I can only imagine how annoying it would be to have strands of someones partially digested chewings flying about, latching themselves to various parts of your lower legs, not to mention the feeling of being adhered to the pavement with each alternate footfall. And then the inevitable grass and stones and goodness knows what else becoming attached to the underside of your running shoe and filling in all the little grooves that most running shoes have! Ah, the joys of city runs….

I have not been doing many of these, trying lately to stay off road as much as possible. I am lucky to live in a town that has easy access to a few trail type runs within close distance of home and work, so it makes it easier to get out into nature. Which in turn is good as the Colville Connection is looming ever nearer and that is an off road event.

Finally, I have managed to get my head into the right space to start my long runs again, but these need to be in the early morning as it has been so hot here lately, with very little relief. I see people going for runs during lunchtime and later on in the day and think to myself that they must be very brave or have something wrong with their internal heat regulator! Whew!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

