yaninasmarathon

See it, aim for it and do it. Stretch yourself and grow!

Back after a long silence….

So I have been rather remiss about writing my blog entries. I can honestly say I have been feeling that lethargic that I have not wanted to put thought to keyboard and type out anything for a while. Whether this has been because of the dreadful hay fever I had been having or simply a silly season overload, or even a delayed after marathon “depression” I am not sure, but never mind, I am back and feeling really good all of a sudden!

I had been trying so hard to stick to my training routine over Christmas and New Year, but we went away, and sleeping in a totally poked bed hurt my back, in fact it turns out I strained the QL muscle which was further aggravated by going ice skating after not being on the ice for about 15 years! One should not try and do things you were once flicking out easily, and trying to jump like the spring chicken you once were is seriously not a good idea!

DSCN0072

So with all the other “stuff” going on with me, this injury further put paid to a happy running effort, as well as putting me in the mood to write. Needless to say, everything felt like pulling teeth. That was, until yesterday!

I still had a sore back, I had been to my Chiropractor and finally booked a massage (why I had been holding off I have no idea) but things were not progressing quickly enough for me. The week prior I had had to leave my long run in the shoe box as there was no way I could do it. I was feeling pretty similar again on Saturday past, as I had tweaked my muscle drying myself getting out of the shower! So I was facing another cancelled long run. The discomfort in my back had been so sore that I could not sit properly. Anyway, I think my obstinacy took over as when Sunday dawned and the alarm went off, I hobbled out of bed and decided “sod that, I am running anyway, and I couldn’t care if I fall to pieces”. So I ate breakfast, applied a heat pack to the offending area and rubbed in some hot rub.  And set off for a hour and fifteen run…..

…….which hurt…..initially, and then started to ease, and then when I got back I felt quite good, and continued to feel better and better all day, which continued into today. I did my scheduled 30 minute jog this morning and all felt fine. I am now sitting almost comfortably in my chair, typing this and thinking to myself “Go figure!”

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

