yaninasmarathon

See it, aim for it and do it. Stretch yourself and grow!

One step forwards, three steps backwards

This is how I feel at present….having bad hay fever this year has meant I have had a much lower energy level, and consequently have not felt like running but make myself, and then feel like I am dragging my carcass around. On other days, like yesterday, my hay fever spirals out of control and I and up feeling like I have a cold, go to bed feeling yuck, and flag the run the next morning as I am still under the weather! So the frustration builds at not doing enough training for the Colville Connection…

So no run this morning, even though I was supposed to do some hill repeats. I did however do a strength session later in the day, so I guess it is not as if I have done nothing today. And the hay fever seems to have eased off again for now, which is great!

I am supposed to start training mostly off road now, to get used to trail running. Last Sunday I ran for about 1hr 15min at the Mount, first in one direction on the grass, then back along the beach, and finished with a lap of the base track. It felt really good to not be on the road, and I think I will do that one again either tomorrow or Sunday. The other day I feel like a trip up the Mount is necessary with a loop around the base track afterward (or even maybe two loops!) I find that running off road energises me more than road running, and I plan to get out into the bush as soon as my hay fever goes away. For now I am content to be at the beach, as it seems that the sea air cancels all the effects of the pollen that is floating around at the moment.

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

