yaninasmarathon

See it, aim for it and do it. Stretch yourself and grow!

Listen to your body

Yesterday I was in no mood to do my planned run. I think I have become better at listening to my body and honouring my energy levels. I woke up feeling exhausted as I had not slept well the night before, here’s the reason…

We went to bed and lights went out at 10.20pm. Then at 12am my husband’s mobile phone was ringing. It was his son…please come and fetch him, he was in a bit of a pickle. Anyway, my hubby went off to do his fatherly duty, and I tried to get back to sleep. However, that was not to be….Firstly, the neighbours had in the interim started a party (according to my daughter, it started around 10.45pm) and I had been woken between 12 and 2am and this is the worst time to be awake as it puts your entire sleep cycle out of kilter!

On top of all the music noise, the neighbours were yelling and yahooing, so eventually I got up to ring Noise Control. There must have been many complaints about various things as I was then on hold, with a pre recorded message saying how valuable I was and playing some crappy music in my ear. So there I was listening to that on one side and the neighbours on the other…..say no more! This carried on for about 10 minutes until I finally was put through, to be told mine was the only complaint about this particular event so far and I was to call back in an hour if it did not die down and then they would send someone. So there I lay, unable to sleep for another 45 minutes until they closed their doors and it got somewhat quieter!

So when I finally got up at 7am I felt like I had been out on the town and had a terrible hangover, which of course I didn’t but that what it felt like. Needless to say the idea of running 60-75 minutes did not appeal and I ended up doing a 41 minute runaround the base track of Mount Maunganui instead. The best part of which was going to the café afterwards and having a banana smoothie.

Part of the base track

Part of the base track

Today is a rest day…..I am still feeling tired…..

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

