yaninasmarathon

See it, aim for it and do it. Stretch yourself and grow!

Start the week on a healthy foot!

I have decided to get healthier with my eating habits. I know what I am supposed to do and find myself constantly not doing what I could to make my running and exercise feel easier. It is a known fact that the leaner you are the better it feels when you run. Things do not jiggle around as much, and any extra kilo will slow you down. So saying, it is also not good to be too skinny! One needs a bit of body fat to be healthy. So to find the happy medium….

I have given myself the aim to lose about 3kg by Xmas. It is a do-able goal, and it has a time frame which is important. Always set yourself a time frame, otherwise you put off the goal indefinitely, then it becomes a wish, not a goal. I have also made sure to write it down and I shall look at it and say it aloud every day. Studies have shown that by announcing your intention out loud, you are more likely to achieve what it is you set out to do. Included in this intention must be the reason why you want to do this in the first place….and for me it is to be a leaner running machine when I get to the other side of Xmas and am ramping up training for the Colville Connection.

Aside from the food stuff, the running is going well, and I ran for over an hour yesterday. This is the longest I have run since  the Auckland marathon. It felt so good that this morning I even had a look at other marathons for next year….oh dear! This one looks rather appealing: Wellington Marathon.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Start the week on a healthy foot!

  1. I agree; even with training all the time, my diet was good, but not great; nowadays, I eat only for nutrition , and never for comfort:) Have a great holiday with your family and friends:))

Leave a Reply

