yaninasmarathon

See it, aim for it and do it. Stretch yourself and grow!

The day before

As I sit here eating chocolate, feeling all righteous about the massive amount of exercise I have just done, it is easy to forget all the hard work that went into maintaining a well functioning body during all that training. The problem is I am hungry, but I just couldn’t be fuzzed to put the effort into preparing a proper meal. I think I am tired….

But I digress, and jump ahead of myself.

This morning I sat down and typed up a long account of the day before the race and the day of the race, uploaded a whole lot of photos into the page, pressed publish and it all vanished into the ether. I was mad! I then had to go in to work so could not and did not fell like rewriting the entire post again. So I am back at the computer now, a few hours later, and my format ideas have changed….I shall break it down into three posts. In feel this is a better way to communicate what happened to me over the last three days. This post is about the day before the race.

I had woken up early, on purpose to get used to the early rising time. For me this is nothing new as I am often up early, either to fit my run in before work, or to head off to train early morning clients. I think it is very important to get used to running early if your race is early as it gets the body and mind into the correct space for race day. I was in two minds as to whether I should go for the recommended 3K ‘do my legs still work’ jog. I was still feeling a little off colour having the dregs of that cold I succumbed to the week before. After humming and ha-ing for a bit I decided I would do it and set off for a run that lasted 17 minutes before I gave up on the home stretch as I started to get a chafe! Anyway, at least I proved my legs still worked.

We left home a little ahead of schedule, which was good as I wanted to get to our B&B, find somewhere for lunch and then put my feet up. We arrived in Auckland and went straight to the Expo so I could pick up my race number and goodie bag and have a look around. I had thought I would feel some excitement, but all I wanted to do was get out of there and to our accommodation. So we didn’t hang around much and went to check in. After that we went to find a place that served pasta for lunch.

Now, there are many bits of info out there about pre-race fueling  One tidbit I decided to follow was to rather have a big pasta lunch instead of the traditional dinner, that way avoiding a too full feeling on going to bed and perhaps bloaty in the morning. I am certainly glad I did that and would recommend it as a strategy. That night I just had a grilled chicken burger with some kumara fries from Burger Fuel and I slept like a baby!

The afternoon passed in a really strange way…I found it really hard to sit still, I had periods of total quite, which for me is weird as I like to talk, and I just didn’t want to to talk. I didn’t feel nervous though, the nervousness had disappeared. I had my plan all sorted for the race – hydration, fuel, what to do if I felt it was too tough, made sure I had put everything out for the morning, set two alarms – another tidbit I gleaned from somewhere (interestingly, the winner of the half marathon had overslept and got to his start after the gun went off!). So everything was organised and at 8.30pm I went to bed, only to be woken up at somewhere around midnight by some idiots saying goodbye loudly to their friends in the street! However, I was so calm by then (very strange for me….maybe I was like a possum in the headlights….) that I went back to sleep and slept soundly until 4.45am, before both alarms went off.

And so it was the day of the race….

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

