yaninasmarathon

See it, aim for it and do it. Stretch yourself and grow!

On your marks!

Well, the time has come to head off up to Auckland and run this marathon! Last night I had the worst sleep ever, and it was supposed to be a good one. I went to bed with a horrendous headache that appeared out of nowhere and had to get up a few hours later to take a neurofen, something I have not done in months! It did get rid of the headache, which does not seem to be there this morning, so that is a positive.

My cat was also being a nuisance throughout the night. She decided grooming was in order at 3.30am and when she does that her teeth squeak  So squeak  squeak  squeak she went and then she thought some water was in order so hopped off the bed and went to the bathroom door and started scratching on it for someone to open it so she could get to her bowl. The only thing I opened was my sock drawer to extract a pair of socks which I then hurled in the general direction of the door. She got the hint….

Needless to say, when the alarm went off at 5am I was in no mood to do my 3K jog suggested in my training schedule, my body was saying no way! My mind was trying to convince me that I must, but for once I have listened to my body! This whole training journey has been an exercise in learning to listen to my body, and if I never do another marathon again, I have gained some insight into how I function within my mind, and how I need to sit back and chill and listen to that small voice that is my body!

So saying…..tomorrow the mind must carry me through the final journey of this marathon adventure. I plan to take in the scenery as much as I can, and enjoy the race. I plan to walk through all the support stations to make sure I get all my fluids in and not on me, and give my legs a short break from running. I plan to smile as much as possible. The forecast is for rain, but according to http://www.metvuw.com/forecast this will not be happening until after I plan to finish the race.

As I write this my nerves are building. I feel like I am typing faster than normal and my fingers are shaky. I can remember the first time I ran a half, I felt the same. I was worried that I would not make the distance, and I did it. So I know I will do this….I am just a little scared by the whole idea!

Perhaps I should do that jog……make sure my legs still work……

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “On your marks!

  1. Denise Louw on said:

    Hi Yanina was thinking of you today I am off to bed as running the London half tomorrow Brenan has gone down with a chesty cold and he is still suffering from concussion so will come along as support he is gutted! Will let you know how I did hope your run went well after all the blogs and training? Love Denise & Brennan x x

Leave a Reply

