yaninasmarathon

See it, aim for it and do it. Stretch yourself and grow!

The best laid plans of mice and marathon runners

Robert Burns wrote a poem in 1785 called Ode to a Mouse. In this poem is the following verse:

But little Mouse, you are not alone,
In proving foresight may be vain:
The best laid schemes of mice and men
Go often awry,
And leave us nothing but grief and pain,
For promised joy!

Basically this means “No matter who makes a plan or how good it is, things can still happen to make the plan fall apart.”

And so they have……

On Thursday last week, Geoff started a nasty cold. By Tuesday this week I had caught it. I went for my usual run on Tuesday morning the day I encountered that silly man. The run went well, I was feeling good afterward and then by lunchtime I had started get a scratchy throat. This rapidly progressed into a sore throat and a general feeling of lethargy and miserableness. Yesterday was no better, in fact I felt even more miserable as well as extremely stressed out that I was missing another run and the race is 10 days away! The entire afternoon I tried to calm myself down and did not succeed. While the little logic that was trying to come through from my tormented mind was trying to tell me it will be okay, I will get better, these things happen, I have trained and all will be well, my emotional egg was almost overflowing and I would not see reason.

This is the worst possible place to be in, as when you are stressed your cortisol levels go up and suppress your immune system even more…..round and round the hamster goes. To top it all, last night I had the most horrendous nights sleep, on the couch (Geoff was coughing) and woke up in such a foul mood.

This led me to start thinking about the reaction I was choosing to all of this. We are totally in control of how we react to things, events, words, everything, I decided to stop then and there. I will be okay and need to concentrate on getting better and stop stressing about the runs I am missing. I will make the 42K, I have done the training and I have a strong will. And guess what…..on a positive note? Today it is dreadful weather and I have the perfect excuse! “Can’t run today, I have a cold!”

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

