yaninasmarathon

See it, aim for it and do it. Stretch yourself and grow!

Two weeks left!

Today I ran 16K, second last longish run before the Big Day! There are actually 13 days, 13 hours and 19 mins (as I write) to D-Day! I must admit to a few small nerves beginning today, not a bad thing I guess, just have to keep breathing…

I discovered another thing about myself during my run today. It was a nice flat run from my house over to the base of The Mount, and I found myself getting tired towards the end. Perhaps this is when the nerves started as I was thinking to myself “I’m getting tired now, how on earth can I run 42K??” After I had finished and was chatting to Geoff about it I realised that towards the end of every run I do I feel tired. It happened yesterday as well, and I only ran 5K. So when I start to flag at the end of the race I will know this is normal for me and I won’t panic.

This last week has been quite a challenge nutritionally though. I know I have to cut down on the carbs for a bit and up the protein, and I am so used to the way I have been eating for all these weeks that I have found it difficult. Perhaps this next week will be a bit easier. Another thing I noticed this last week was that I have been more tired than usual. Yesterday after running 5K and having my shower I decided the best place for me was on my bed, wrapped in a duvet and having a nap! So that’s what I ended up doing….

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

