yaninasmarathon

See it, aim for it and do it. Stretch yourself and grow!

Much needed update!

Been a bit quiet lately, sorry….

Being sick kind of threw me off my routine. It was hard to cope with the frustration of not being able to complete my training runs, and then having to slowly get back into it again. At least I was spared a full blown flu as it went up into my nose and then left me a bit tired and flat. Which was hardly what my most recent long run was!

On Sunday I ran 29K and I did it in a particularly hilly route (or at least it felt really hilly to me) I guess it could be called an undulating route, a bit like the marathon is going to be. Needless to say, afterwards I was sore and I can only guess the reason is that I had missed the previous week due to the bot! So I hobbled around for the rest of the day. I also had my first experience of cramp while running, but I got it in my ab muscle! I think it was because I started talking at about 27K after running in silence by myself until then. Geoff joined me for the final lap around the Mount and that is what did me in. I slowed to a shuffle and walked and running downhill was super painful, but I finished, so that’s the main thing!

This Sunday is the biggest run ever! 32K! I have to plan a route that does not include going anywhere near the Mount this time as there is a race on and I don’t want to get caught up in all of that. So the next challenge is to find a new long run route. I shall tell you all about it next time.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

