yaninasmarathon

See it, aim for it and do it. Stretch yourself and grow!

A Momentary Hiccup

For the past three days I have been feeling yucky. Sort of like the flu, but not quite. No fever, just a few aches in my throat and tummy. Consequently, this morning I have not done my long run. I was supposed to do 29K today, it is not going to happen.

There is nothing fantastically momentous about being ill, but the mind games ones head plays are very interesting. My logical brain was saying “You need to rest” and my training brain was saying “You’re missing an important training run”. The battle was on….and luckily my logical brain won. I did do some research though, on good ol” Google, to clam myself down and make myself realise that missing one long run was not going to hijack my entire training block. After 2-3 days of rest, you are not going to lose your fitness, and your body does not forget how to run long. It has been a good learning experience for me in scaling back and allowing the body to rest when it is screaming at you for exactly that! And I have also learnt that in any marathon training schedule, you are bound to have hiccups along the way, simply due to the massive stress you put your body under each week.

Time to relax now, enjoy the day…it is raining quite hard, so this is a blessing in disguise as I will not get soaked plodding along doing 29K in the wind and rain today!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

