yaninasmarathon

See it, aim for it and do it. Stretch yourself and grow!

It’s raining…it’s pouring….

Woke up this morning to a deluge! Or rather, spent the whole night listening to the deluge hit our roof! It’s been pouring with rain all night and finally this morning at 5.45am I gave up and got up. besides, my stomach was growling as well.

First thought….can’t run in this. Some rain is okay, but this is crazy! I do have to do my long run today, so I may have to out later. What shall I eat? Can’t make a decision, half asleep and my whole plan has just been thrown out the window (into a puddle). Now, all this is spinning around in my head and I am standing in front of the espresso machine staring at it and not getting on with anything. Quite amusing really.

The trouble is, when training for any long distance race, half, full or dare you try it (I won’t be!) any longer distance, the one workout you cannot afford to miss is the long run. So sometime today, I am going to have to get out there and do it….17km. Now there is a gym up the road from us, and for $10 I can go there and get on a treadmill and bore myself silly looking at the wall for 1hr45min, but I can’t bring myself to stoop to those levels. Don’t get me wrong, treadmill training can be very useful, just really boring for a long run. It may yet come to that today as to get my run in before dark, the latest I can go out would be around 3.30pm and if it is still pelting down then, I shall turn left out of our road instead of right and head up the road to the gym.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

